Short Description of the Designation

The Certified Tax Practitioner (CTP) is a professional designation that can be awarded to general tax practitioners, accountants and tax attorneys involved in the tax departments of accounting and / or auditing practices, public officers of companies and SARS officials.

In terms of Section 240 of the Tax Administration Act No. 28 of 2011 every natural person who provides advice to another person with respect to the application of a tax; or completes or assists in completing a tax return, such person must register with or fall under the jurisdiction of a Recognized Controlling Body registered with the South African Revenue Services (SARS).

There is no restriction on the tax work which may be under taken by a Certified Tax Practitioner provided that the practitioner is competent to perform such function. To this end the IAC expects that all its members take cognizance of clause 12 of the “Covenant of an IAC Member”.

Criteria for obtaining the Professional Designation

A person who holds an Accounting or Taxation qualification (NQF 6).


Individuals not in possession of a formal qualification but have a minimum of a NQF4 qualification and have been working within the  South African tax environment for at least 5 years can also apply for registration as a Certified Tax practitioner.(This must be viewed in conjunction with SARS criteria).


Commitment by the applicant that he/she will increase their qualification to NQF5 within 3 years of obtaining membership with the Institute.

This is the IAC’s Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) process.

The applicant must be compliant with the Institute’s code of conduct.

All practicing IAC members, who provide a service to the public, are compelled to have professional indemnity insurance.

Academic Component

A person who holds an NQF 6 or higher qualification with at least  one of the following subjects can apply for the Certified  Tax Practitioner (CTP) status:

  • Tax
  • Accounting
  • Commercial, Company or Corporate Law

Recognition of prior learning (RPL) process

Minimum NQF 4 qualification with 5 years practical tax experience.

Practical/Workplace Experience

Persons with an NQF 4 and, 5 years verifiable practical tax experience.

Competency Assessment

Once the academic and practical component has been met, an applicant would need to undergo a 2 hours written and oral evaluation conducted by a registered IAC assessor.

The pass mark for the assessment evaluation is 75%.

CPD Requirement:

A Certified Tax Practitioner will need to complete 15 CPD hours per annum.

9 structured tax and 6 unstructured tax CPD’s.

ATP Application Form
ATP Affidavit

Ready to Talk?